Scotland could face Samoa in a second consecutive Rugby World Cup after the Pacific Islanders were forced into a Play-Off spot for a place in Pool A of the 2019 event in Japan.

Rivals Tonga qualified for RWC 2019 after finishing second to Fiji in the Pacific Nations Cup (PNC) after Samoa failed to secure a bonus point in their 38-16 defeat to Fiji in the final match in Apia on Saturday.

Samoa now face the prospect of a play-off against the winner of Czech Republic or Portugal versus the second place team in the 2018 Rugby Europe Championship (excluding Georgia, who have already qualified) for a place in Pool A at the event in two years time.

The outcome of the PNC puts Scotland one place closer to knowing their full group, with Ireland and hosts Japan already confirmed, with ‘Europe 1′ and the cross-continental ‘play-off winner’ outlined still to be confirmed.

At the RWC 2015 pool decider at St James’ Park in Newcastle, Scotland Captain Greig Laidlaw scored late on to secure a victory 36-33.

Rugby World Cup 2019 so far:
Pool A: Ireland, Scotland, Japan, Europe 1, play-off winner
Pool B: New Zealand, South Africa, Italy, Africa 1, repachage winner
Pools C: England, France, Argentina, USA, Tonga
Pool D: Australia, Wales, Georgia, Fiji, Americas 2

‘Keep It SCRUM’ for the news and views from all areas of the game – view SCRUM 96 here

To subscribe for FREE click here