Ayr’s Pete McCallum will lead a PROJECX Waterboys squad featuring players from six Scottish clubs at the Stockholm 10s.

The Scottish invitational team have had a good 2017 to date and have named their party that will travel to Sweden for the event on August 5 and 6.

McCallum is joined by three Ayr team mates in the squad while Watsonians, Glasgow Hawks, GHA, Howe of Fife and Marr are also represented.

Once again PROJECX, International Power and Water Investments, JA Resorts & Hotels, Ace Property Management, Sarcogent Solutions and Ethigen are supporting the team. They also have a range of new sponsors including Kyloe Restaurant (Signature Pubs), Orion Systems, St. Julians Advisory, 4 Navitas and Bureau with Akuma Sports as the equipment supplier.


In 2016 the Waterboys won the Stockholm event.

The men’s tournament in Sweden was divided into two levels, experienced and developing teams, competing for the Cup and the Shield.

A number of new faces made it difficult to predict the outcome of the men’s Cup.

It became clear early on that the Waterboys, Šiauliai and the Exiles were a cut above the rest.

When it came to the quarters, the Exiles and Babas proved too strong for the Swedish teams Hammarby and Södertälje. The Waterboys beat the Challengers and Šiauliai outmuscled the English team of lawyers DLA Piper.

The Exiles started strongly against Šiauliai in the semi and seemed to have command of the match, but a couple of errors let the Lithuanians back into the match and they equalised on the final whistle.

Šiauliai then went on to score the decider.

In the other semi the Waterboys were too strong for Babasa.

Šiauliai started strongly in the final and were 14 -0 up after five minutes. The Waterboys fought back and it was 14-12 at the break.

A yellow card weakened Šiauliai and the Waterboys used an overlap to take the lead. Thereafter the Waterboys raised their game and ran in three more tries against a tiring opposition – a deserved win for the Scottish team.

2017 Squad

Pete McCallum Ayr (C)
Blair Macpherson Ayr
Daniel McCluskey Ayr
David Armstrong Ayr
Rory Drummond Watsonians
Michael Fedo Watsonians
Will Bordill Chinnor
Tom Stanley Cambridge
Jack Steele Glasgow Hawks
Kerr Gossman Glasgow Hawks
Andrew Goudie GHA
George Graham Carlisle
Will Wardlaw Howe of Fife
Conor Bickerstaff Marr
Scott Bickerstaff Marr
Chukwuma Osazuwa Blackheath

‘Keep It SCRUM’ for the news and views from all areas of the game – view SCRUM 96 here

To subscribe for FREE click here