Scotland Women Sevens gained promotion to the Grand Prix circuit for 2018 after they won the Rugby Europe Trophy event in Hungary at the weekend.

The same squad who won the first round of the Trophy in the Czech Republic last month was in Esztergom where they faced Malta, Finland and the Czech Republic in pool A on day one on Saturday.

Throughout that day the Scots were on top, winning the three games 41-0, 38-0 and 45-0 respectively.

The try scorers that day were Hannah Smith (4), Rhona Lloyd (3),  Lauren Harris (3), Megan Gaffney (2), Helen Nelson (2), Lizzi Musgrove (2), Abi Evans, Chloe Rollie, Lisa Martin and Louise McMillan.

And on day two on Sunday Lisa Thomson’s squad, coached by Scott Wight, showed no signs of letting up.

They defeated Latvia 50-0, Romania 32-0 in the last four and then Germany in the final 33-5 to cap a great 2016/17 for women’s rugby in this country.


Abi Evans (Hillhead/Jordanhill)

Megan Gaffney (Edinburgh University)

Lauren Harris (Melrose)

Rhona Lloyd (Edinburgh University)

Lisa Martin (Murrayfield Wanderers)

Jenny Maxwell (Lichfield)

Louise McMillan (Hillhead/Jordanhill)

Elizabeth Musgrove (Edinburgh University)

Helen Nelson (Murrayfield Wanderers)

Chloe Rollie (Murrayfield Wanderers)

Hannah Smith (Hillhead/Jordanhill)

Lisa Thomson (Edinburgh University)

The squad are pictured by Adrian Henry

‘Keep It SCRUM’ for the news and views from all areas of the game – view SCRUM 96 here

To subscribe for FREE click here